Final Major Project – Week 2

This week I have focussed on gathering primary research, I first visited a victorian secret garden which was very interesting to walk through as everything was overgrown, and had a weathered look. Which was perfect for what I was looking for. I also walked around Newcastle taking pictures of distressed areas, abandoned buildings, building sites, fishing boats, structures, anything with texture.

I looked at an Italian artist named Rotella which I thought linked nicely with some of the distressed wall images. I instantly fell in love with his work. He’s well known for his works of collage and psychographics, made from torn advertising posters, featuring 1950’s iconic Hollywood stars. The artist uses posters, commercial billboards and ripped paper in his work. He’s inspired by an up-to-date theme of graffiti and like a graffiti artist, he would express his political views, messages through his billboards and posters.

The atmosphere set from Rotella’s is very interesting. The iconic stars are normally presented as the epitome of beautiful people. But in my opinion, he’s advertising the stars in a different way as the images are distressed, worn and looked like they’ve been decaying. This could connote Rotella having a secret message behind the posters, meaning that these people are not perfect just because they are huge stars. For this reason, I think his work gives off a somber mood as it’s showing idols as imperfect.

I love Rotella’s style of work I think they’re vibrant, graphic, suggestive, contemplative, dramatic and bold. The textured surfaces fit perfectly with my theme and also the pictures I’ve already taken for primary research.

 

Mimmo Rotella’s distressed work.

A selection of my own photography.

Leave a Reply

